Chosen Solution

Hello, I have an iPhone 7. Currently iOS 15.0.2 is installed. But I can’t add fingerprint even though the home button works. In the settings, the Touch ID section is active, the add fingerprint option is also clickable. But when I click on add, the screen that tells me to read my fingerprint does not read my fingerprint. Taptic Engine also works. It even detects two soft taps (without pressing). I have reset the device to factory settings. But it didn’t work. Now I can only use it with password.What could be causing the problem? Thank you for your help.

Has the Touch ID ever worked before? The Touch ID portion of the button is a separate mechanism, even though it look like one piece. So the home button itself can work just fine even if touch ID doesn’t. Sounds silly, but try restarting your phone if you haven’t already. Or try cleaning off the button, make sure your screen protector, if you have one isn’t obscuring it. Other than that Could just be the sensor is bad. Which is unfortunate because to get a fully functioning touch ID you would need Apple to replace the display since the Touch ID sensor needs to be configured to the phone.