Chosen Solution

My home button stopped working. My touch id however still works. I have changed both the home button (knowing the touch id would stop working), still had the same issue. I then changed the screen aswell, still the same issue. I have no idea what the problem is. The phone is otherwise perfect. It was never even opened prior to changing the button because it started malfunctioning.

Fingerprint sensor and return to home function share the same cable, connector and button but that’s about it. Technically they are separated functions each with its own components and circuits. Unfortunately things sometimes just break for no special reason and this seems to be the case. Since you’ve done all possible troubleshooting already, the only further step would be a microsoldering repair in my opinion.