Chosen Solution

Hey All, So I goofed a few weeks ago and laundered my iPhone 6s. I took it apart, rinsed everything with 18M-ohm water and dried everything with acetone (I work in a chemistry lab, it has it’s perks). Right afterwards I was able to reconnect everything and it turned on! The screen had some water under it, so I placed it in a dessicator over the weekend to pull it out. Now it won’t turn on. It doesn’t seem like any of the display or internal contacts have been damaged or corroded. I can’t really see if the charging contacts have been affected, but since it worked previously I’d have a hard time believing they’ve corroded since then. Does anyone else have any ideas? I’ve tried multiple chargers, cables, and disconnecting/reconnecting the cables. Hoping to revive my phone with some help!

Oh, man. He’s not kidding I really can’t believe you used acetone. I mean, I guess you didn’t know any better. Oh, well. Sorry, we’re not trying to shame you. Ok, so it got in some liquid. Then, I don’t know what type of water that is, off the bat, sounds like distilled. It is. Distilled water is a good thing. I use bransonic electronics cleaner, distilled water and an ultrasonic bath. Then I push those things out of the logic board with 99%, you could get away with 90% isopropyl alcohol. Then I have been letting it dry but I recently started using an infrared RC oven to dry the board at 190 F. If you’ve got access to a lab, you could likely replicate this process. Hard to say, if there’s no signs of damage. I bet you got a real nice microscope over there. I would look at that board under it. Check it out. If you replicate my process, make sure it’s good and dry, before adding electricity, then if it doesn’t take, come back, and we’ll go from there. Also I didn’t know about dessicator stuff. Gonna google that. Sounds sexy