Chosen Solution

So I replaced the screen with a part off eBay and followed ifixit to the letter. I have also transferred the metal contact plate from the frame. The home button feature of the iPhone works fine, however the Touch ID function doesn’t work at all, and when trying to set up just says failed try again. I have tried a hard reset. Having looked around there are suggestions to replace the extension cable, however I do not see how this can work as the home button function still works. I was extremely careful when removing the home button and don’t think I damaged it at all, any advice? Something I might have missed? Many thanks

There is a big number of traces passing through the Touch ID cable, then through the extension to the board. So some traces / pathway might be missing and some still there. You may need to reseat the cables on the screen and on the board. If not, the Touch ID cable itself may be damaged (optimistically: sometimes fixable), its connector (that part is fixable), the extension cable (replaceable), or the connector or some components on the board (fixable).

It was in fact just the extension cable. Amazing how such a little thing can cause so many problems!

I had the LCD replaced from an iPhone (iCloud locked ) but today I replaced the button from the original LCD of the phone and still no luck. Did hard reset( Power + Home) but haven’t tried reset from setting. Please Help :-( Update (08/17/2016) Before installing the original home button I was unable to install iOS 10 beta on the phone and today after putting the original home button on and no luck with touch I tried iOS 10 and Thanks Goodness it worked I was ankle to installed iOS 10 and Touch ID stared working :-).