Chosen Solution

The iPhone 5s has the Model Number of A1530 and it is the Global Version. The phone was working normally back then like a few months ago or maybe even almost a year but suddenly it stopped working. The device seemed to be “dead” and even after trying to charge it and turn it on by holding down the lock button, the screen doesn’t show anything just black not even the partially lit black. After connecting it to the computer and opening iTunes it requires the phone to be updated and restored and the data will be wiped. I tried using iTunes to “flash” iOS 12.2 (which was the signed iOS version for iPhone 5s) but it wasn’t successful and it stopped when it was about to finish. So after a few more forums I learned about 3uTools which worked in restoring the iPhone 5s to iOS 12.2. I thought the problem was already fixed but the next day the I tried turning the screen on and it was back to the same way it was. The screen wouldn’t turn on and it seemed to be “dead” again. I tried connecting it to the computer again to install iOS 12.2 again and it said the phone was in Recovery Mode. The first try wasn’t successful and I had to put it into DFU Mode first then retry to install iOS 12.2 again but shortly after starting the installation, the phone shows the Apple Logo without the loading bar, turned on and showed the lock screen. After turning it on with 100% of battery capacity, I locked the screen then after a while I decided to unlock it again. After trying to unlock the phone it was back to being “dead” and doesn’t show anything after trying to turn it on using the lock button. This didn’t work but I tried moving the slider from silent to with sound multiple times to test if the phone was turned on and would vibrate but no response. I tried moving it from silent to with sound and I tried to hold the lock button and home button. This seemed to work and turned the device on but I’m pretty sure after I write this question and lock my phone screen again later might shut it down again. I’m sorry for the somehow long question but I made it a bit more detailed to I guess narrow down the symptoms to one problem. Thank you for taking your time reading it and have a good day!

The fact the housing gets hot points to a short somewhere in the phone. It’s a complicated fix that requires quite a bit of patience and probably tools and skills that go beyond an ordinary DIY approach. However in case it was a modular issue you may try disconnecting one by one all components plugged to the logic board to check if overheating disappears. If you manage to get clear indications replace the faulty part, otherwise it would probably be caused by the logic board and would require microsoldering skills and tools.

To anyone who might have the same problem This requires 3uTools though but I haven’t tried it for iTunes because in my case iTunes can’t restore my device using the downloaded IPSW and during restoration and error occurs. If you are just trying to turn it on again this method might work. Follow the steps below and hopefully it works turning the phone again. Plug your device (iPhone 5s) into your computer and open 3uTools.Hold the Home Button and the Lock Button at the same time for about 10 seconds. You can usually hear the system sound when your device disconnects from the computer.Once you hear the sound that indicates your device is disconnected, release the Lock Button and remain holding down the Home Button until the sound indicating your device is connected to the computer.Then once your phone is in DFU Mode, exit DFU Mode by holding the Home Button and the Lock Button at the same time.After holding the Home Button and the Lock Button at the same time, keep on holding it down until the Apple Logo appears and your device will boot up. I do not guarantee that this will work with everyone but hopefully it might help someone.