Chosen Solution

My phone suddenly froze while viewing a safari webpage. From there the screen gradually went white and then the phone shut off completely. I’ve tried: Plugging it in: nothing Resetting it with power and home button: nothing Plugging it into the computer : nothing Running the DFU mode through iTunes: iTunes recognized an Iphone 5 and initiated the restore. Received an Error 4005 when iTunes was waiting for my phone. Then I opened the device up. I cleaned most of the dirt and grime away and unplugged the battery. I cleaned the battery connection with rubbing alcohol and closed everything back up. This led to the first sign of life from the phone since I started. When I hit the power button the apple logo came on, then it went back to black and no life. Tried resetting it again but its back to no response mode.

It sounds like something failed on the logic board. Unfortunately, this will not be easy to troubleshoot remotely and ideally needs to be looked at by an experienced micro-solderer in order to identify what is wrong with your device. Ideally, you want to find someone local but good workmanship trumps locality. There are many shops worldwide that do this so you shouldn’t have any problems finding them. Talk to them and ask how they do their work. Focus on troubleshooting, as opposed to shotgun replacement, and good practices like proper cleaning of boards once completed etc. If you can’t find one locally, then consider mail-in repair. There are several reputable micro-solderers patrolling this forum.