Chosen Solution

I replaced the iPhone 5c display with the complete assembly, including home button and selfie camera. Sometimes, when the device is asleep for more than a few minutes, and I wake it up, the screen brighness seems to come up in two steps: dim to normal in step which takes less than a second. However, if the phone has been on, and I either put it on sleep or it happens automatically after a few minutes, and I wake it up again, the screen brightness usually comes up to normal more gradually, but still in a second or so. This doesn’t always happen. The screen otherwise works perfectly. I don’t remember if this happened with the original screen, which I replaces because my son damaged it. Don’t know whether this is a hardware or software issue, or if it is normal, or if I should care. After I replaced this screen it’s on it’s second life anyway . . .

This is normal. The screen should light up gradually, but when the system stutters during wakeup, the gradual lighting up will also stutter, hardly a big deal.

I have replaced a number of iPhone 5C screens and it seems like the cheaper ones do this. It does work fine but they arent as of high quality as what OEM is, Also you will notice that they are not as bright or clear as OEM. I think this is also due to the Original screens being Retina Display and the aftermarket ones are not.