Chosen Solution

I turned off my phone and went to turn it back on and it wont it shows the apple logo and then it goes black Its not stuck in a loop it just goes back off and stays off until i try to turn it on again I tried holding the power button and home screen at the same and nothing I took my phone in and they did a free diagnostic test and said the firmware/software is fine and the battery is also fine He said he could try to update it and see if it that works and it wont erase anything on my phone i however have to wait till the end of the month for my check to come in i was just wondering if you guys have had this happen and do you think updating the phone will get it to work? He said it may come on its own eventually. Have any of you guys had this happen? Thanks.

Sounds like a software issue for me. Unfortunately in my case I had to restore via iTunes with the phone in recovery mode and lose all data. Usually that occurs when the phone is not shutdown properly (an Over-The-Air Wi-Fi system software update can do this too.) E.g home + power button hard shut off method was used just after the phone booted up or during apple logo.