Chosen Solution

I broke the screen on my iPhone 5 and replaced the screen, as I have successfully done before. When I plugged it in (it had run out of power just before the screen broke) I see the graphic showing an empty battery (red on one end) and a charger plug being inserted, which is what I’ve seen when it’s charging but doesn’t have enough charge yet to start up. But, even after leaving it charging for a while, that image never changes so it seems like it’s not charging at all. I’m not sure what to do. I may try to get a new battery but it seems strange that the existing battery would just die like that so I’m thinking maybe the impact had loosened something but all the connections seem ok. Any idea what I should look at?

So right now the iPhone shows low battery icon with plug in charger image at the bottom right? You plug in the charger and it still shows the same thing with the plug on bottom right? If yes then check the charging cable to see if it plugs in fully. If it doesn’t then there is something stuck inside the charging port usually debris. You can use a toothpick or something equivalent tweezers for example to clean the port. There are 5 pins that push down on the bottom side of charger port. Make sure you don’t touch them when cleaning. Otherwise if still no good probably a bad charger port.

If the Phone was Off for a while u need to leave it in High output Charger for hours and try power on later

If this is the original battery then you should just replace it. they are not expensive and you get to stop worrying about that too. Mike