Chosen Solution

hi all, dudes and dudettes gurus and guruesses water damaged iPad A1489, so before I invest too much time and energy I’ve read all the other posts questions/answers and til now I’ve not seen any that apply to this model

powers up and screen remains dark- but can see the apple logo (with a strong inspection light) for 3-5 seconds and then shuts off/dark again suspected back-light fuse, diode or filter but I’m not that good as to be able to identify on my own I’ve done general mild gentle cleaning and I know at some stage the lcd connector/pins needs to be cleaned thoroughly

so looking for some kind help- pictures are just for orientation first will post better specifics as required- hopefully thanks in advance- kelef

It definitely sounds like your backlight circuit is damaged. Typically it’s just the filter (ferrite bead L2200) but it can also be the diode (D8228) or the coil (L8225). Ideally you need to probe the filter with a multimeter to see if it has continuity (it should be indistinguishable from a short). If the filter looks good, then test the diode and the coil. In a worst case scenario, it could be the PMIC but for now focus on the passives. Depending on your level of skills and the tools you have access to, this is not a repair I would recommend to a beginner. You can do a lot damage to the logic board if you don’t know what you are doing. Ideally, you should look for a repair shop that does micro-soldering repairs. EDIT