Chosen Solution

Can I install a 2nd Gen iPad Digitizer into a the new 3rd Gen iPad? If so, is it an identical match?

They appear to be different parts (iPad 2 digitizer, iPad 3 digitizer). That said, I’ve scrutinized the photos from the iFixit teardowns of both the iPad 2 and iPad 3, and darned if I can see any significant differences. The metal shield around the camera appears to have grown a spring-contact on the iPad 3 to improve contact with whatever it touches, but that looks like it. And it would be very in keeping for Apple to use the same part for both iPad 2 and 3 if they function the same way. The logic boards of each of the two even have their various connectors to the screen and speaker arrays in the same spot. So: inconclusive. Maybe we’ll luck out and an iFixit staffer will compare and contrast the parts for us.

The board sockets (connectors) are the same. The iPad 3 digitizer cable is longer though. So, as stated above, you can use the iPad 3 diggie on an iPad 2 with a couple of folds on the longer cable. However, you wouldn’t be able to use an iPad 2 diggie on an iPad 3. The cable just isn’t long enough. IndyElectronix

I just replaced an iPad 2 digitizer with an iPad 3 digitizer. Although the flex cable is different in length, it still fits the mainboard connector and has a couple of extra folds that got tucked under the screen, as far as I can tell, it works.

iPad 2 digitizer does not fit iPad 3 the flex cable is totally different.

I believe the connector is in a different location. I’ll be doing one in about 2 weeks and can update as I have the iPad 2 in stock.

I would not do it. The ribbon cable is longer and is at a different angle. See photo…

This can result in a problem sealing the screen…

Will a ipad 2 digitizer fit a ipad 1?

What about the lcd would a 3 fit a 2 and other way around?

I just replaced a white iPad 2 screen with a black screen replacement and there seems to be a noticeable difference in the screen size. It doesn’t quite fill the frame. Did I get the wrong screen ?

Use the iPad 3/4 touchscreen, just fold the flex cable and tuck it under the LCD, make sure you don’t tear it or rip it. it will work. I been doing this for years. The camera bracket is different, just swap it for the broken one.