Chosen Solution

Occasionally, when I start my laptop I will get a black screen although I will hear the OS in the background. If I quickly press the power button and let it flash 3 times and then press it again, I will get the startup screen and I can log in and proceed as usual. This work around helps but I would really rather fix the problem as this is becoming rather repetitive. Can you help? Thanks

Hi @driven8 , Here is a link that describes the various options on how to repair Win 7 startup problems. As described try the options listed under the heading in the link “Options to try before using Recovery Environment in Windows Vista and 7” first Remember never to select a reset my computer option as this will reinstall Windows and delete all your personal data . Only ever select repair as the option at this stage. If you want to safeguard your data perform a system image backup to an external drive (and create a system restore point as well if you wish) first before you commence trying to repair the laptop. This way if anything goes wrong or you pressed the wrong option you can restore it to the way it was before you started

In reference to my note above —- As I was checking to see if the laptop itself had the video issue (without the external monitor), I unplugged the HDMI cable. The laptop did not lose video. Ironically, when I plugged the HDMI back in, the LG (external monitor) worked great. No intermittent screen black-out. I ran multiple videos in multiple tabs and window then used Bluetooth out - no intermittent blackout! I restarted the laptop without removing the HDMI cable, ran a video and the blackout returned. Unplugged and re-plugged the HDMI and that fixes it. So - is this a fix? No. Is it a workaround I can live with? yep. When I power up the laptop and log in, I pull the HDMI and plug it back in. By the way, it is not a cable issue - I’ve tried other cables. My guess is that it is a hand-shake issue. When you unplug and plug back in, it re-establishes proper HDMI communication. Again, that’s my guess. Hope this helps…