Chosen Solution

I recently added a new SSD in the old optical drive slot and use the old HD as additional storage. I had no success with moving the two OS over to the SSD so, I chose to do a fresh install. I have successfully gotten a fresh install of OSx on the SSD and everything boots fine. However, I am now trying to install windows OS on the SSD using bootcamp. I get the partition and everything set up fine but, when I get to the windows installer I am getting the error message “Windows cannot be installed to this disk. This computer’s hardware may not support booting to this disk. Ensure that the disk’s controller is enabled in the computer’s BIOS menu.”

This is a known issue with drives in the optical slot. Put the SSD in the normal hard drive slot, and your extra HDD in the optical drive slot and it should work. If it still doesn’t work, you should put your old optical drive back in and install windows to the SSD slot via a DVD rather than the USB installer. Update: I was confusing two different issues. Windows won’t install with two drives installed in the system at all. If you only have the SSD installed, the Windows installation should work fine.

What SSD are you using? That version of bootcamp may not see the new drive. What macOS are you running?