Chosen Solution

I have an old iMac 20" (EMC 2133) I’d be interested in removing the optical drive and replacing it with a small SSD to run OSX on. I know this can be done with on a Mini, but I found no info on whether or not this can be done at all on my iMac model. Any info would be appreciated.

Replace it just like you would a normal hard drive. Here’s how: iMac Intel 20" EMC 2133 and 2210 Hard Drive Replacement UPDATE Sorry, I missed that. Here’s what to use: iMac & Mac mini Dual Drive Enclosure

It won’t work. The early 2008 iMac used an ATA connector for the Superdrive… not a SATA one. Sorry…

I just took my 2007 20” iMac apart to do this with a caddy similar to the one recommended above and this won’t work because the connector, as noted by Lawson above, is different.

(optical drive is below, ssd caddy above).

Hello Mayer, I just wanted to make sure that the “12.7 mm SATA Optical Bay SATA Hard Drive Enclosure” works on the Early 2008 iMac. It only lists MacMinis as being compatible. If it does, I would like to use it to install a SSD. Thanks in advance.

Did you ever get an answer if this would work?