Chosen Solution

I ordered a 2011 hi-res anti-reflective display assembly to be installed on my 2012 Macbook Pro unibody. Before ordering, I did my research to make sure this is possible. It looks like it is, but with some modification on the display connector. I would have just ordered a 2012, but the price difference is crazy (3-4 times as much for the 2012). My question is, how much modification needs to be made? Proper tools for shaving off the extra width of the connector? Also, of those who have done this, how is everything holding up?

The tang of the connector is slightly wider which goes into the logic board LVDS connector all it needs is a little bit of sanding with a fine nail file. All it takes is a few strokes cutting down the fiberglass edge

Make sure you do each side equally and squarely. The supplier of the connector altered the size ever so sightly. Here’s the needed part if you must replace the full cable Use this one: Unibody Macbook Pro 15" LVDS cable (10/11) - Apple P/N 661-5847Just for reference: Unibody Macbook Pro 15" LVDS cable (2012) Apple P/N 661-6504