Chosen Solution

Insignia model NS-LCD32-09 remote sensor in TV isn’t working. I’ve contacted Insignia and the part is out of stock (IRPF8QA9) and I’m not seeing anything for this in any google searches. I double checked the batteries in the remote and did the “camera” test, and the remote checks out fine. In my searches though, I’ve found IR receivers & extenders and wonder if this would work instead of trying to tear apart this 10 year old tv? I’m sure I could do it if necessary, but if I can plug something in it would probably be a safer solution as other things I’ve taken apart still don’t work.

Emily Salerno  these IR receivers & extenders will not work since they still need the IR receiver in your TV to work. Looks like you will really have to try and replace the one on your TV. Get the service manual for your TV from places like this and continue to try and find the right part. The manual has the diagram for the IR board so you might even try to repair it.