Chosen Solution

Hi, I bought a used 2007 mod. iMac 24" 2.8Ghz. Now I wonder if there is something wrong with the screen. When I start it up I see areas with yellowish discolored areas and I can see icons and some text shining through at the bottom of the screen, but not icons from the dock. When it is up and running, if I change the background to white I can see the discolored areas more clearly. I have an older 20" white iMac Intel and it does not have the discolored areas. Is this normal and is there a way I can fix this without having to replace the LCD? Here is a link to a couple of pictures: http://www.dropbox.com/gallery/943721/1/

Sorry for not getting back on this issue but it is solved now. I called Apple and they replaced the screen for free! I can not find the support article any more but take a look at this article: http://nanchatte.wordpress.com/2010/11/1… Apple has admitted this is a production failure so they should fix it (like mine) for free even if you don’t have AppleCare.

Hey- this looks kind of old, but this article just came out today so you may want to try some of its suggestions. Sounds like it’s a pretty well-known problem now.