Chosen Solution

Hi all, I deconstructed my iMac and made it into a functioning external monitor after it broke. I want to re use the iSense camera by making it a USB device. I have heard of people soldering the cables onto a USB for use. The issue is, there is 7 wires and I am not sure which wires to attach to the USB as they only have 4 connections. I have attached an image. Thanks in advance

I also have a 2011 27" iMac, but clearly different color wires. I reverse engineered Virtual Drivers video to get the pin order, not the colors since those change even between the same models. For my 2011 27" iMac 7 wiring is as follows (camera facing you, looking at the QR code, from left to right): wire 1 black - x wire 2 purple - x wire 3 brown - x wire 4 black - black wire 5 grey - green wire 6 green - white wire 7 blue - red

To connect iMac iSight camera to a USB connector Camera wires to USB cable wires Black - BlackBlue - RedBrown - WhitePurple to Green The first two are power, the last two is the data output. Update (06/19/2020) Are you sure the camera is working? Here’s the other side connection verify the lines

PP5V_S3_Camera is the positive power line (Red) and the frame ground (Black) is the negative side. Do you measure power?

You can find the correct pin out of the board and just match it to the standard USB Type A pins

https://s5.electrodragon.com/wp-content/… There are two GND cables coming out of the cable. I used the smaller cable and left the big one alone (not connected) Works like a charm. It took me a long time to find out the correct pins. Hope that helps.

Can share which wires connect?