Chosen Solution

My screen froze twice in the past 2 weeks on my iMac so I ended up doing a hardware test on my iMac and this error came up.. 4MOT/4/40000003: HDD-1316 What do I need to replace? Any help would be great… Backed up all my files just in case.

You could have one of two problems: Your HD maybe over heating exceeding what the HD fan unit can cool as the HD is one it’s last legsIt’s also possible the HD fan unit is failing I would first install a thermal sensor & fan monitoring software to see which is failing here. Temperature Gauge is available on Apples App store as one possibility. Follow this guide here: iMac Intel 27" EMC 2390 Hard Drive Replacement When you open your system you might also want to make an effort to clean out the dust buildup as I’m sure given the systems age you have a fair amount.