Chosen Solution

GREETINGS! I followed along a trusty YouTube video. Ordered all the proper items. I formatted & cloned the new drive. It all seemed pretty simple. Before applying the new adhesive I gave it a test run and have no display. Of the 4 LED indicators on the inside, the bottom 2 are green. I tried: unplugging SSD, plugging in old Drive, new outlet, unplugging power cable, connecting keyboard, jiggling (lightly) the monitor cables, drinking…..nothing. What can I do…. PLEASE HELP New SSD: Crucial MX500 1TB 3D NAND SATA // New RAM: A-TECH 16GB (2 8GB)

Ouch! Sadly the YouTube guide is recommending using a single edge razor blade which is not what you want to use. What happens is when you push it in you also tend to cut the LCD displays ribbon cables as seen here

You’ll need a new display assembly to fix this. iMac Intel 27" Retina 5K Display Display Replacement & iMac Intel 27" Retina 5K Display Adhesive Strip Replacement