Chosen Solution

Hi, My iMac was in sleep mode, when i moved my wireless mouse to wake it… the computer made a loud “pop” and shut off… I tried turning it on, but nothing. I tried diffrent outlets and still nothing. Someone suggested i open it up and check the Capacitors… I did, but they look fine. The ones on the power supply look fine as well. It has no warranty anymore, it’s why I decided to open it up. Now i don’t know what to look for, Should I just get a new power supply? Someone please help… I know it’s an old computer, but I really don’t want to trash it.

Check the diagnostic LED lights if #1 is out it’s your power supply. If this answer is acceptable please remember to return and mark it.

Same exact thing happened to my iMac. I have a 2012 iMac and it won’t turn on after the loud pop. I have tested the cord and the power supply and all seem to be fine. There are no burning smell and I don’t think the 2012 iMacs have the diagnostics LEDs. I am worrying that my logic board has failed.