Chosen Solution

Hi there, I have the hardware mentioned above and have purchased a Samsung 850 500Gb SSD. I would rather ADD this as well as the 1Tb HDD (to use as an archive) rather than remove it and leave only a 500Gb drive. I have looked through this site and don’t seem to find this exact scenario. Can anyone advise please? And hopefully also give me some clues as to what cables I will need and how to connect it all up? Many thanks for your help.

Here’s the best external case for holding your Samsung SSD as an archival drive: OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual Multi-Interface Performance RAID Enclosure Kit with a second drive of the same size to setup a RAID set. Here’s what you’ll need for your internal SSD drive: BeetsTech - Apple blade SSDs (NVMe/PCIe 3.0 x4)

If you bought a blade style SSD then yay you, this is possible! If you didn’t buy the right SSD, @mayer or @danj might be able to assist me and you on finding the right blade style SSD for your iMac as I am unable to find one. iMac Intel 27" Retina 5K Display Blade SSD Replacement