Chosen Solution

I have probably a bad logic board on my iMac late 2012. Instead of buying a similar logic board, I have the thought of upgrading with a used full spec late 2013 logic board and put it in the late 2012 chassis. Is it possible at all?Has anyone tried this before? Thanks in advance.

Did you review the two IFIXIT guides? iMac Intel 27" EMC 2546 Logic Board ReplacementiMac Intel 27" EMC 2639 Logic Board Replacement From the surface the guides do appear to show the exact same layout of the logic board and the connections to it. If you compare the power supply and the display you’ll also see these parts are also interchangeable between the two series. While I haven’t swapped out logic boards my self I think its a safe bet it would work. But before you head down that path why don’t you tell us why you think the logic board is gone and tell us what the onboard diagnostic LED’s are telling you. Maybe we can pull a rabbit out of the hat here (it would be cheaper!)

I’m not a technician but I’m pretty sure that 2013 27” logic board will fit and work in 2012 27” chassis too. Upgrading a 2013 model with a later model should not work just cause of not having that 5k display starting from 2014 model on. Swapping or using the 2012 SSD blade with the 2013 logic board can’t work. The 2012 SSD connector is an 7+17 pin mSATA based one, 2013 SSD connector should be already a PCIe 2.0 x 4 connector.

Well I need assistance. As I have a late 2013 27” iMac. I was told that my sensor that controls my fan probably is gone and a logic board it needed. I want to know what all newer boards can I interchange with. Might as well upgrade if am going through all that work. I’ve changed 3 fans in my system and none same to turn on. I did a hardware test and it’s telling me my fan isn’t working, when I do the extended test, the computer eventually just shuts down. Any ideas on my next step.