Chosen Solution

Hi all! A friend of mine gave me a broken imac 24". I would like to recycle the power supply for another project, however i don’t know the pinout, well i could easily find the Vcc with voltmeter. I just need to know which pin will switch on the unit, and if it’s a “connect to Vcc” or “connect to ground” system. Here some more ref. SADP-220AF (A1200) 24v@4A and 12V@10,3A A few pics

Cheers!

Quick feedback on my tests during the last couple of days

iMac OFF 0v3,3v0v0v0v12,112,125,3 iMac ON 0v3,3v2,3v0v0v12,112,125,3 PIN-1 & 5 => O volt PIN-2 => 3,3 volts PIN-4 => unknown PIN-6 & 7 => 12 volts PIN-8 => 24 volts PIN-3 is connected to what seems to be a temperature probeMy conclusion is this PSU has no switch ON/OFF,It’s always powered upIt’s been a few days now i’m using it on both 12/24v, and nothing to report

Hi, can I use this PSU with M.NT68676.2 and LM240WU2-SLA1 to make external monitor? if yes then how?

This image is of M.NT68676.2A and I have M.NT68676.2, but both looks same.

– M.NT68676.2 Inverter Connection Pins

– My screen LM240WU2-SLA1’s Connection Pins

– I want to use Mac’s power supply instead of shown in below image:

Can I use it?

Hi, I have a few questions regarding this topic. I am going to try and “rescue” the LCD display from my 24-inch white iMac A1200 after the motherboard failed. The LCD display is from LG.PHILIPS with model Nr.: LM240WU2 (SL)(A1). Inverter board already part of screen. I have ordered a controller board from China specifically for this purpose, with HDMI, DVI-D and VGA connections, which hopefully will allow me to use it as an external display. I think it is the same as the M.NT68676.2 you show in the post above. I presume they will supply me with all the necessary connectors for the screen - they said they would after I gave them all the information. Question 1: I would like to use my existing iMac power supply, and my understanding is to take the +12Vwires coming from pins 6 or 7 (or both?) of its connector, however what is the ground wire that I should take? Is this one of the “0V” wires from pin 1 or 5 (or both?). Qustion 2: The inverter board already on the display should reveive +24V, however I was told by the person in China who is providing the controller to simply connect a +12V DC power supply (3 or 4 Amps) to the controller. Will the 3rd party controller board convert to 24V for subsequent delivery of power to the inverter on the screen? Question 3: The 12V output from the iMac power sullpy is more than 4A i think (more like 20A if i remember well). Does this matter? Thanks a lot for any feedback!

Answer 1: You need just one +12V pin and one 0V or Ground pin that’s it. Answer 2: I think you need to use the power supply of the Mac to hook up the inverter. Answer 3: As long as the voltages match up and the amperage is equal or greater you are good to go. For example, if you need 12V 2A then you need to supply 12V and at least 2A, you could use 12V 4A if you wanted and it will still work.

I managed to get it working on the first try with a late 2006 24-inch imac and a newer controller board that supports display port. Thanks to those who paved the way, using the original power supply.