Chosen Solution

Hey guys, A year ago I bought a second hand iMac 24 inch, 2.8 320 GB SD iMac. Worked fine for a year. Last couple of days it was in sleeping mode. Today it doen’t boot anymore. No fan, no sound. When pressing the power button there is no fan speed. I red all the topics on here, and some on google, and this is what I tried already: Switching multiple power cords and outlets. Pressing the button for 1-2 minutes. Removing RAM So I decided to open her up to look if the indicator leds give any more info. They are all off. First thing I was thinking about is try to change the power supply, but I found out that is about 150/190 dollar. Half the price of what I payed for the whole Mac. Anything I can try ? Update (09/05/2019) Ordered a new power supply and it works again :)

You might be able to fix your power supply. Your Power Supply is facing a common issue Capacitor Plague Otherwise, it’s time for a new power supply.

Hi Patrick ! In view of the tests you have already done, it is indeed very likely that it is the power supply. Maybe you can get a second-hand or collect it on an iMac for spare parts.