Chosen Solution

So, I replaced the ignition coil to my 1993 volvo 850 because I wasn’t getting any spark coming out of the coil. However, after I installed the new coil I was still getting no spark. I read up on it and multiple people told me that this is likely due to the contact breaker not being able to break the circuit which causes the high voltage output from the coil. I could not find any manual for the volvo that tells me how I would go about replacing this. Does anybody know how I would go about doing this or if this is even the issue? Would very much appreciate a reply. Thanks

@ahughes05 if you are 100% sure you have no power reaching the spark plugs you need to check the wiring to the coil, the distributor cap, carbon brush and the rotor arm. That is probably what you are referring to when you say " contact breaker". If all that checks out normal the fault is probable with one of the system sensors. Your Volvo does store fault codes in its diagnostic module. It is a bit cumbersome and tough to read. I attached the part about this on here Volvo850-Ignition.pdf Not the best of all manuals but it should do. This one ENGINE PERFORMANCE Volvo - Self-Diagnostics Article Print is from Volvo and may work better for you. See if this looks like your distributor. Let us know if it is different

Update (02/04/2018) @ahughes05 to add to the confusion here is the wiring diagram describing the Engine performance circuits. It will show where the coil gets its power from etc. Volvo_850-Engine_Wiring.pdf Update (02/04/2018) This is going to tell you how and where to perform some basic measurements on your coil as well as the camshaft position sensor.Article Print