Chosen Solution

Hi All, I replaced the original battery in my iPhone 6 Plus with an ifixit one and its like a new phone again. All the laggy performance issues I had have completely gone. Mostly. When the phone is on very low power under 5% the performance falls through the floor; frames missing from animations, apps taking 30-40 seconds to open up then crashing and finally reboot cycles. Is there a reason for this? When replacing the battery initially I had no idea it would fix my performance issues, though it does make sense that as the battery wears out its power output would lessen I presume it is a similar situation this time. As the battery runs down its power output dips slightly.

Interesting how this older question came up … Looking back, we now know that his was caused by Apple throttling the CPU when the battery degraded or was in a low capacity mode (low charge state). You can read more about this here.

Hi, I have had problems with 3rd party batteries before but I am no expert on what batteries are good or not but I always stick with the original batteries that Apple makes because I don’t want any problems with them. It’s worth speaking to ifixit about this and maybe they can offer a replacement or something but I buy genuine Apple batteries from eBay which are used with only a few cycles. Hope I helped