Chosen Solution

Great info. finally. i had mi ice maker replaced right at the end of the warranty but only after the scumbags at Samsung actually tried to tell me it was out of warranty based on the manufacture date. anyway they did not replace the moto/auger/ir sensor/fan module i believe. i reset it and perfect ice comes down but only resetting it. the bottom section of the 3rd digit is flashing as well as 2 others on the second. i used my cell camera to see the ir sensor and i’m petty sure its not on. (my cell picks up the ir on my tv remotes so i figured id try). my question is do you or anyone here know if i can force the sensor in the computer to act as if its not full? in other words bypass it (digitally)? by the way the new style ice maker does solve the iceberg issue. they added some length to the trough in the back to prevent drips.

Pablo Lopez. When you reset the ice maker your bypassing the thermostat that tells the ice maker to dump the ice and refill. If the problem is in the optic sensor the ice maker wouldn’t fill. In my 35 year career, I’ve never had an issue whit an optic sensor. That doesn’t mean they don’t fail, it’s just not very common.