Chosen Solution

I bought this ipod on ebay for 25 dollars as a back up to my first generation ipod. The seller informed me of this problem. So I got it today, and basically no matter what I do, it is showing an icon with an adapter and a power outlet. I tried plugging it into the mac and the PC. No change. Is this a dead battery? I assuming it isn’t the hard drive? If so does this website sell the battery so that I can replace it?

I definitely start with a new battery and a full charge. Batteries are available check http://www.ifixit.com/iPod-Parts/iPod-3r… BTW the case is a little hard to open do not get to frustrated with it…just follow the instruction from this great site….Good Luck.

Similar but different ‘Dead’ Problem after maintenance I had a real problem with my ipod Classic 60GB that wouldn’t restart after I did the tear down, to clean a gummed up click wheel. Basically, despite charging, the ipod wouldn’t turn on AT ALL. At whit’s end, and about to throw away, I came across this from the iPhone part of this site. I shorted all three of the iPhone battery terminal by just placing a Stanley knife on them, and lo and behold, it came back to life perfectly. iPod won’t power on after screen replacement, even when plugged in