Chosen Solution

I have a 2.5 yo Samsung RF261BEAEBC/AA french door refrigerator. The icemaker has suddenly stopped dumping ice. The temperature is set to 2 degrees and the icemaker button is ‘On’. When the reset button is pressed, the motor kicks in, the perfectly formed ice drops and the tray refills. I’ve replace the water filter and the icemaker module, all to no avail. I’ve turned everything off, then back on. I’m not sure what to try next. Any help out there?

If your having to press the reset every time to get the ice to drop it could be the ice maker sensor. Could also be the tempature isn’t cold enough. If everything is cooling fine, I’d replace the ice maker. But, if you’ve noticed ice cream is softer or the milk taste bad, than your problem isn’t in the ice maker. You can find a bunch of solutions to try on this page: Frigidaire Icemaker Not Working. Most of those fixes apply to Frigidaires as well as many other brands, which tend to work similarly.

The ice maker module was replaced, the temperature was set to 2 degrees, the issue was the button is not an “ice on” button but rather an “ice off” switch. It was illuminated when I checked so after turning it off and waiting about 12 hours, it started making ice again. The person that installed the module did say the switch was off but apparently he didn’t wait long enough.

I just read today that they finally found the cause of the on going problem with the ice makers on the french door models. Ice maker in the ice room, top left of refrigerator. Apparently the fix didn’t make it to your model before you bought it. Samsung redesigned the dispenser motor assembly. This assembly contains the dispenser motor and the ice fan motor and a few other components. This is located behind the ice maker in the ice room. Samsung said the fan bearings were one of the failures, causing poor air flow, thus, areas in the ice room got warm and ice melted and leaked and stuck together causing all kinds of issues. It would be nice if Samsung decides to replace this as a recall. Hopeful but I won’t hold my breath. Before you buy anything, talk to a technician. We can tell you what brands we work on the most. Sales people know all about selling.

What to check when SAMSUNG I/M DOESN’T MAKE ICE ~Freezer temperature has to be below 9*f ~is the ice tray damaged or covered in frost ~Cycle the I/M Located on the front of the I/M is a test switch. It might be on the side or bottom of the I/M head. Press the button for 5-10 seconds or untill it stars to operate. It should take about 30 or more seconds to complete test and it will end will a fill. If it won’t cycle you have a bad I/M. ~is the water line to I/M frozen? Is there an icycle hanging from the water line to I/M ? ~Test the water valve to the ice maker for continuity/ohms with a multimeter with the refrigerator unplugged. The valve is behind the unit where the water hooks up.

The Samsung French Door with freezer on the bottom and ice maker in ice room top left of fresh food section. I just learned that there is finally a new fix. Since they came out with this “ice room” design there has been many bulletins, each with a new fix from Samsung. None I have tried worked. Yes, they know there’s a problem and there is already a law suite about this. I understand your frustration. This latest fix isn’t going to make anyone happy either. The redesigned parts that are needed to correct the icing up cost around $600. That doesnt include shipping, labor and tax. The ice maker is redesigned and they fabricated 2 “Y” clips that act as heat sinks to aid in defrosting. The case auger assembly behind the ice bin is also to be replaced. This alone costs $255.00. Yes, it’s not right that you paid all that money on a refer that won’t make ice. As of today, Samsung isn’t picking up any of the costs. Probably because of a pending law suit. Who knows. If it was my refer, no way would I put any money into something that has had half a dozen failed fixes already. I’ve had several customers buy these new countertop ice makers that connect to your sink. Cost $150-$250. They love the ice and it’s an inexpensive solution to your ice crisis.

Press “Energy Saver Control Lock” (for 3 seconds)

the samsung ice makers are the worse on the market. they know they have problems , yet fail to address the defects in the design. i have for the last 6 months had to defrost my ice-maker like we did 40 years ago with freezers……. i have had the worst experience with this company and ice maker as of sept 19,2018 …..i had a service man come out from the company samsung recomends from my area which is video repair place….. long story, but i had to pay them up front for the service call , repairman says if i dont get a new icemaker it will happen all over again because of a design defect……. he preceeds to show me….. so i tell him to replace it…. as he is setting it on the counter , he tells me their is another service charge…… i hit the ceiling…. i have already paid one…… sooooo i call the company and they tell me that’s their policy…… when he leaves to get the part, it’s another service charge….. i told her he walked 20 steps or so to his truck and got it …… she then tells me, he left your house , so it’s another service charge…. i argue with her over their shady practice….but got no where………… so not only has samsung taken advantage of us knowing of the defect, but the company that represents them does toooooooo…..what a racket……. i also, am in the service business and woild never treat people the way we, have been treated over an ice maker…… after telling my story just this morning , i have had 3 people that have samsung refrigerators , where theit ice makers dont work…… shame on you

If anyone reads this my ice maker stopped working months ago I tried everything so I called refrigerator repairman out charged me $307 for a new ice maker. Well that didn’t work he told me I needed a new board which was another $300. I said no way come back and pick this up and we will just buy ice. We decided to look at the power on and off button on the refrigerator come to figure out that the light was not Illuminating and this whole time it was because it was off. So before you do anything hold it down and see if it works even though the light does not

Another potential problem is if your water pressure falls too low. Usually this is from a filter that needs to be replaced or perhaps mineral deposits. To test if it is your filter, take it out and then hit the reset button. If that doesn’t do it, unplug your fridge or turn off the circuit breaker for 2 min. When you power it back on, try the reset button again. This solved the problem for me. Time to get a new filter!

Ice maker has been in a coma for over a year. We had a RCD trip yesterday on the fuse box and it’s rebooted it into action ! This is after an engineer last year told us we’d need a new computer in the fridge.

I turned my ice maker off for three days, let the blockage in the pipes melt, turned it back on and it worked on again. Very happy I didn’t have to spend any money. I have already spent the total value of the fridge freezer already in other repairs. My fridge started cooking my food, instead of being 4 degrees it went to 26 degrees! I wouldn’t purchase another Samsung fridge again.

The Samsung ice maker is the worst of all fridge ice makers. I’ve had two..shame on me for buying a second time. The salesperson told me the ice maker was greatly improved…not true. I’ve discovered that you have to remove the ice tray/box every 45 days… .put a hairdryer in the cavity to de-ice everything…for about 10 minutes…put a towel under the hair dryer….when it’s de-iced…put the draw back and wait for ice. It will take 12 hours to get the ice going again. I usually do this at night and let the ice regenerate over night. Make sure the ice tray/box is empty of old ice and dry…. or it will leak water….before you get ice or cause another freeze up

Check the lever arm to ensure it is not frozen to the side of the ice maker. It is on the left side of the ice maker and is a white arm. During filling, if the refill tube is not perfectly straight, some water may splash on the arm and it will freeze to the side of the maker. If this happens, it thinks the tray is full of ice and will not cycle wither because it is stuck and/or senses the tray is full. Be careful and check to ensure you do not break the arm.

Hi , i have a RF263TEAESR/AA . The ice maker is working and dumping the ice but it is not dispensing . I replaced the auger motor it worked for a day and then stopped . When i tested the motor to direct power it works. Anyone knows what will cause this problem ??? Auger motor not working ..

Called Samsung and gave the phone to my wife. Samsung fully refunded our purchase from two years ago.

Help! I have a Samsung RF263AEBP My ice maker worked just fine until I turned the ice maker off because I went on vacation. I turned it on, it chimed and the little blue icon showing ice is showing. It’s been 5 days and has not made any ice. Can you help this very unmechanical simple mind to make my ice maker start up again?? I promise I will never touch the ice off button again.

How many lights should be lit at the top o the left side of the refrigerator my. Unit ie side by side with freeze on bottom

if the blue ice light is on after pressing ice that means the ice maker is turned off