Chosen Solution

Hi I would like to know the location of Bios chip of Microsoft surfce pro 5 model number 1796 Thanks

Motherboard PCB: M1007506-015

I think it’s the Winbond W25Q128FV. You can find it in the teardown of your device. It’s highlighted in dark blue. I’m not 100% sure, but I think that’s the one. Before you proceed, maybe someone else here knows it.

You are correct, it is the W25Q128FV on the 1796 pro, I cannot get a read from a chip clip type reader using my programmer I believe I am making good contact, Some chips won’t read when installed or maybe my chip went bad. I cannot seem to lift the chip using my hot air station, it looks glued down. I may try again later by shaping a soldering iron tip to only fit 4 pins and lift one side at a time, nothing to lose since the board will not enter bios (only flashes windows logo and shuts off) and I suspect a bad firmware bios update sent by MS. I also may try to carefully grind it off and replace with a standard package SG chip if I can find the bios. Board is otherwise dead anyway. Likely a waste of time

Hi is there 2 bios chips on the 1796? I have changed the 25q128fvpq but for some reasons the serial number hasn’t changed so I’m assuming there is another bios chip on board. does anyone have any ideas?