Chosen Solution

I had my Note 4 on a sailboat in Tahiti. Got some great pictures (that I really want to recover). She was at 3%, I took the fast A/C charger that came with the phone, and plugged it into the 120V boat’s transformer… FWIW, I had been doing this all trip with no problems. The phone makes the charging noise, I lock the phone, I walk away. Three hours later, I come back, I see the red indicator light on (which I thought was strange, the phone charges in like half an hour usually)…. I unplug the cord, light shuts off, and its shown no signs of life since. I tried a different cord, I tried using my computer, I got a new battery off amazon, I got an external battery charger (thinking maybe the port was compromised)…. nothing I really want those pictures off my phone, money isn’t a serious concern… help

Hi! Did you have your pictures backed up in a Google account or something? The daughterboard that handles charging may also be compromised, so you should look into replacing it, maybe using this guide.

Hi Mike, Just a quick note on photos - I always set up albums so that images only exist on SD card. Maybe you did this as well. . Best of luck on the mission Captain, especially when each image has $10k$ value.