Chosen Solution

Hi all I just replaced a screen on and i pod touch 4th gen. Thought I tested it to see if it was charging as usual. Customer brought it back saying its not charging. I tested it with two working cables and all I get is a battery with a red line and the connect to charger symbol. Cleaned out the port with 99% alcohol and saw no bent pins. I tested the battery at 3.4v but changed it out for s&g’s. I pod came on with the new battery with charge in it but still does not show the charging symbol. I tested the internal pins of the charging port that connect to the board with a multi meter and it shows current coming in through those pins. Not sure where to go from here. Thanks for any help.

The iPod 4G is quite challenging to work on. Did you unsolder the original battery in order to change the screen? The centre contact is the thermistor which checks the battery temperature. If that wasn’t making contact (maybe the track had lifted from the board - easily done) then the charging circuitry might think the battery was too cold to take charge.