Chosen Solution

Hello there and thanks in advance, Recently my mechanic change the valve cover gasket and he didn’t mention that I need to change the whole valve cover . Thanks to all the online help I decided to do it on my own but I made a big mistake There was a lot of oil in all the spark plugs well . I cleaned a little bit but then I took the spot plugs out Without realizing that the oil really get into the cylinder . Can anybody tell me what should I do should I try to take a paper napkin and try to clean the cylinder or what should I do thank you for your help

First, remove all the spark plugs. Turn the engine over for a few seconds with a rag over the spark plug holes (so the oil doesn’t go all over the place. Without the plugs in it will turn over pretty fast, forcing the oil and any dust or anything out the hole. Clean the plugs with brake parts cleaner or something similar. Replace all the plugs and wires. Start the engine. It should start up relatively easy. It will smoke a bit for a few minutes, as it burns off the oil that was left. That won’t hurt anything. After all is done, clean up the engine and you are done. Good luck.

I had a plug that was getting tighter as it came out and I sprayed a bunch of penetrating oil in there to free it.  The plug finally came out after letting the oil do its work, then tightened down again and let sit for a couple hours.  After that it came out nicely but went glub, glub, glub into the cylinder. I knew it wasn’t a major deal and would smoke off but did have a little bit of plastic tubing in the garage, duct taped to the shop vac and got the tube down into the cylinder, and sucked most of it out. A little smoke but I’m sure if I hadn’t done that someone might have called the fire department!