Chosen Solution

As I was replacing my screen, I thought I had disconected the battery. Well I didn’t so when I was tring to plug in the home button, there was a small puff of smoke from near where the home button plug is. After I completed the assembly, everything seems to work except the home button. I was about to start throwing parts at it to see if I could fix it but I figured I should at least look for a fix online. Can this be fixed? If so what can I replace?

Do you mean when you connected the flex that is coming from the screen to the top portion of the logic board? This kind of thing usually happens to the LCD connector but there is also a “high” voltage line for the Mesa IC (Touch Sensor) - PP16V5_MESA - which is at 16.5V. This will require a micro-soldering repair as the damage is with board level components.