Chosen Solution

My Seagate IDE hard drive isn’t being recognized by my windows 10 computer. I don’t have a IDE to usb so I can’t hook it up to my Mac. I’ve been trying to retrieve the data off of it for my grandpa but I’m not sure why my computer isn’t recognizing it. It’s windows formatted cause my grandpa was using it with his windows 7 laptop. The hard drive was in an enclosure and I took it out and i don’t have the enclosure anymore. The enclosures power jack was lose so I thought I could take it out and put the data on a new hard drive.

Here’s the hard drive up top:

And here’s the connection on the motherboard:

Now I noticed that it’s making a weird clicking noise:

I’ve got it to show up on windows but it can’t access data:(

@paperboypaddy that sounds like a bad hard drive. you may have trouble getting anything off the drive. If you need to, you can always try a data recovery service but it will cost plenty. Take a look on here for more information

A clicking noise is basically the funeral music. your HDD is dead… Its called the Click of death. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Click_of_d… @paperboypaddy