Chosen Solution

Contaminated my iPhone 3GS with a mixture of oil, sugar, soy sauce. (Korean BBQ Marinade) Not much but just enough to cause the message “Charging is not supported by this device” when ever I wake the phone from sleep. Everything seems to work and it will charge. The message goes away when the docking cable is attached. What do I do as the Apple “Genius” told me I’m sol unless I want to pay full freight on a new phone.

here is the guide to get the logicboard out my magic glass orb told me that there is a shorted connection around the dock connector. serious - the fluid has shorted something in the charging part of the phone, it ould be that is outside on the contacts of the dock connector - look closely, use rubbing alcohol and a soft brush to clean that area carefully - if there is nothing on the outside, it’s inside the phone - but i’m pretty shure about the dock connector if you see something slightly white/greenish (almost likt mold) - thats it - if you are lukcy - you don’t have to replace anything - but be careful whith the disassembling