Chosen Solution

Hi, I am new to the forum but I hope someone can help me with this problem. My Mac Book Pro 15” dropped sideways on the ground. Now my mac turns on and connects to an external screen (through HDMI), but the main screen is black and does not turn on at all. I tried to smack it a few times (thinking it’ll do anything), and the backlight started displaying but the screen was still off. What should I do? Please help. Many thanks, Brian

sinni_co … you could have possibly dislodged the connector to the display or it could have damaged/shorted a component on the board in the backlight circuit. Your graphics and power seem to be unaffected due to it showing properly on external sources. i would start by checking out the connector, but while you have it open, scan the area for any burnt, broken, loose or dislodged components. here is a guide on how to get access to the connectors and area: MacBook Pro 15" Retina Display Mid 2015 Display Assembly Replacement