Chosen Solution

I’ve been trying to fix up an iPhone 6 for my sister, but when I do a test call I can’t hear the other person. They can hear me, but I just can’t hear them. If I record a voice memo, I can hear from the earpiece speaker, but just not in a call. I replace the ear speaker, restored the phone, and have use different SIM cards, but I can’t figure out what’s wrong. Should I try putting in new proximity sensor? Any suggestions? Thanks!

What is the history of this device? Was it working before and suddenly stopped or did you/your sister acquire it in this state? According to your tests, the individual components work (microphone, ear speaker etc.) just not when making a call. You may want to retry the tests to be certain but if they are confirmed, then it becomes a “switching” issue and that would most likely be caused by the Audio Codec IC which controls all of the audio functions.

dont think its a proximity issue if you can hear voice memos through the speaker