Chosen Solution

Hello, What ever I do, I keep getting this error when trying to reinstall the OS: “an error occurred while preparing the installation. try running this application again” I have tried the following: -Disk utlitity, cleaned the drive to Mac OS Extended (Journaled). -Internet recovery - Getting the same error. -Booted the iMac - so it installs the OS that came with it (El Capitan). Same error! -Downloading MacOS from app store from 2 different macs, putting it into a USB (Bootable) - getting the same error. Tried re-downlading the app 3 times! -Going in to terminals, typing in “date”. The date is 100% correct. Looks like I am out of luck… anyone who can help What else can I do? I have tried for several hours, but it wont let me install the OS? Update (12/20/2017) Tried doing the PRAM reset aswell two times (Boot sound coming 3 times) Currently I removed my Crucial RAM´s. Trying again now to see if it works. Also, did the “ntpdate - u time.apple. com” Hopefully this does the trick

I have spoken to four different Apple support technicians for a couple of hours. They gave up - and had to call in an Apple engineer. We made an appointment that he would call tomorrow morning. In the meantime, I wanted to try to resolve this myself. The solution: In Disk Utility in recovery mode, I saw “Fusion Drive”. I made a partition, so that I had two separate drives. HDD and SSD. Actually, I had tried this earlier - but I got the same error. However, the different method I did this time was erasing the SSD to APFS format. Yes, you´ve probably read that Fusion Drives do not support APFS. But it won´t work when SSD and HDD is in “Fusion Drive”-mode. So you have to actually split FD. I tried installing MacOS once more - And it worked!! Hopefully someone will find this useful. Internet recovery, changing date, booting USB to iMac etc won´t work - try this!

Something just doesn’t add up here did you replace the HD? I think you don’t have any choice here. You’ll need to visit an Apple Store to see what they can do to fix your system.