Chosen Solution

Hi, my old laptop is Acer Aspire 4253 - E352G32Mnrr. Its a very old laptop. It cannot detect the wireless mobile hotspot connection from my phone and only showing dial-up connection. I don’t understand this. Does that mean my laptop does not have a wifi card? But when I use my wireless mouse and plug the mouse’s USB adapter, I can use my mouse as normal. Why won’t it detect my phone’s hotspot? Do I need a wifi adapter or something to help connect to the hotspot and use Internet? Please help, I need for WFH. ?

Hi, The reason that the wireless mouse is working is that it is using its own wireless adapter that you’re plugging into the USB port and it is not using the laptop’s WiFi adapter. According to the specifications for the laptop, it does have WiFi capability. Did you try pressing the Fn + F3 keys (both together) to check that the WiFi is turning on as indicated by the WiFi light? (see image)

(click on image to enlarge for better viewing). If the light is not coming on or if it is but you still can’t detect any WiFi networks, go to Device Manager > Network adapters > WLAN adapter entry and check that the adapter hasn’t been disabled and also that the drivers have been installed correctly. What OS (operating system) is installed in the laptop, Win7, Win8.1 or Win10?