Chosen Solution

So, I cracked my iPad’s digitizer. I went to replace it then the new digitizer broke and the socket got ripped. I only need to back the data up and unlock it, i see that there are 2 points on the logic board for the home button. As shown here.

Now do I need to put in the inductor and capacitor and resistor and then short it or can I just short the pins out? Thanks.

The iPad mini 2 has a mechanical switch so you only need to short the input to ground to get the desired effect. As for the missing components, they form a passive debouncer circuit to insure that only one “pulse” gets back to the circuit. Now, for your original question, if only the connector was damaged, then you could short the pad - PAD 1 - (or remnant of the connector). If the passives around the connector were damaged, you could either replace the components or short the line after the debouncer circuit (GPIO_BTN_HOME_L).