Chosen Solution

I broke the part that closes the battery compartment. Is there anything that I can do to get a new one besides buy a whole new camera? I keep trying to super glue it back but that is not working.

A few searches on ebay tell me that the battery cover is not available as a spare part. Also, I know from experience that gluing the parts back together won’t work. The hook that keeps the cover closed has to be able to flex a little bit when you open and close the cover and a glue bond just won’t hold up, even if you’d use a splint. However, you could jury rig some (self-adhesive) velcro to keep the cover closed - it’s more elegant than duct tape, and less messy.

Does the camera work WITHOUT the cover all together? Or do you have to have something there in order for it to work? I’m asking bc I just found one dumpster diving but it has no cover. I’ve tried a few sets of batteries and still no luck getting it to work…