Chosen Solution

Why do I keep getting a TRAY 1 LOAD [TYPE][SIZE] error? Per the Configuration Page printed directly from the Printer noting: Default Paper Size: LETTER Tray 1 (LETTER) Tray 2 (LEGAL)
Tray 1 and Tray 2 are set to Plain and Letter and Tray 1 is set as Cassette instead of First in the Menu settings. Both XP Pro32 and 7 Pro 32 drivers and properties all have Tray 2 set as Source and Letter and Plain. I also have adjusted the Tray 2 Cassette length and width and setting so the SW601-603 are positioned to the correct setting. Seems either way… legal and letter are the same position settings to trigger those switches so I don’t think the PCB switches are the issues unless there is something else in the firmware on the machine or drivers.

Unbeknownst to me and I am not sure if related… all other printing attempts have prompted to print from Tray 1 or the system thinks LEGAL size is in Tray 2 and winds up jamming last I tried due to feeding wrong I’m thinking maybe due to firmware on the printer or a sensor off since seems the firmware on the printer would know to measure the length based on time or something I’m guessing. I don’t know for sure exactly yet. Thanks to an answer on Quora, I was motivated to try again and see if detects the LETTER size in Acrobat due to another software setting and maybe that will update the TRAY 2 to LETTER vs the current Configuration Status printout noting TRAY 2 [LEGAL] in firmware since there isn’t an option to set TRAY 2 to LETTER like is noted in the PAPER HANDLING. The printer screen prompts after I select print to TRAY 1 LOAD PLAIN LETTER then I select the GO or VALUE button and the prompt USE PLAIN LEGAL INSTEAD? I press the SELECT button then and the page prints from TRAY 2 though a 41.3 ERROR UNEXPECTED PAPER SIZE and the prompt to LOAD TRAY 2 PLAIN LEGAL appears. If I select the minus side of the ITEM button a prompt appears noting EITHER RELOAD THE TRAY WITH-> where I can’t select to change anything. I can only clear out the JOB by pressing the CANCEL button. If I press the GO button PROCESSING JOB FROM TRAY 2 is prompted and then I get a 13.1 PAPER JAM OPEN INPUT TRAYS error prompt. Similar to previous USE PLAIN LEGAL INSTEAD message, I can’t select to change the TRAY 2 [SIZE] value to LETTER anywhere on the printer itself that I’ve found. I did just try what was noted in regards to the Acrobat PRINTER SETUP where I found an A4 setting that I changed to LETTER and verified the PRINT settings were correct and that might have did it running through the above error prompts in Italics I noted above with no jams this time. I think that just reset the TRAY 2 [SIZE] value to [LETTER] now.

I would argue that this is a sensor that is misreading the guides. As you can see this not configurable from the admin panel.