Chosen Solution

Hello ladies & gentlenerds, I bought my Lenovo S21e-20 because, among other things, it features non-glare display and was very affordable. I later found out, that it is not designed to be upgraded ever with additional ram or a bigger hard drive. I know, on this price level one cannot expect a device, which is easy to upgrade. But still, I want to try this. There is no service opening but you can remove the keyboard by removing the srews on the bottom of the casing and then it is possible to remove the screws underneath the keyboard. I did this in order to open the casing but I could not open it completly without using force. There seemed to be clamps on the backside next to the screen, but I could not rech them. So I was not able to see, wether or not the RAM and harddrive is soldered or removable but I could identify the battery, which is L14M4P22 and seemed to be removable. This battery model can be ordered online, so assume, there must be a way to open the casing (unlesss this battery is used for other easier to service lenovo models as well, which I doupt.) So to anybody who found out how to upgrade this thing, please help me. It would be so good to do the impossible. Tank you.

Hi, Here is a link to the service manual for your laptop. https://download.lenovo.com/consumer/mob… It shows how to dis-assemble the laptop. On p.60 it shows an expanded view of all the components. After that it details the part numbers for all the parts. You are correct in that the RAM and HDD are mounted on the systemboard. To upgrade you need to replace the entire systemboard. This is evident by the fact that the various systemboard RAM and HDD variations have a different part number. There is only one battery spare part number so I’m assuming that it is suitable for all the various systemboards. Hopefully this is of some help