Chosen Solution

Since I got this T420 ~6 months ago, I have noticed a few issues crop up. However, these issues are not the main point. However, I will mention them in case they are related. Keyboard has some dying keysMotherboard has a damaged Ethernet jack (probably repairable; I already looked into the cause; ~3.4 ohms on the orange coil and 193.3 for blue) Basically, the keyboard has problems with the I key, primarily (other keys are dying as well) and the Ethernet is damaged. I can repair both problems and get the computer back in working order but before I do that, I need to test the SSD and rule out hidden motherboard damage. The problem I am having is the system lags for ~30 seconds at random. It doesn’t do this all the time but it happens a fair amount. I installed the SSD shortly after I bought the laptop because the drive it came with (WD5000BEVT) had problems, was 7 years old and had ~13.2k hours. I still have it, but the drive is never going back into use because of the pull reason. What I had to hand when it failed was a 240GB Crucial M500 I bought on Black Friday a few years ago and barely used before shelving it. It has 97% life left and 2,926 hours on the clock, so it’s still a very new drive. Here is a picture of the SMART data aqnd Crucial Storage Executive:

As you know the WD (WD5000BEVT) drive you had in the system was a Fixed SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) drive. From what I can find out for your Lenovo ThinkPad T420 the drive port in your system is only able to support SATA I (1.5 Gb/s) or SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) drives. You’ll need to check out your Crucial SSD’s specs to see if it can run in a SATA II system.

Install Storage Executive by Crucial. Your drive may be new enough to be supported. http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/support-st… A) it will let you check for bad sectors B) it will let you update to the latest firmware if any