Chosen Solution

My early 2011 Macbook Pro recognizes an attached battery but isn’t charging it. Per CoconutBattery: Current Charge: 0 mAh Maximum Charge: 3716 mAh Design Capacity: 6900 mAh (53.9%) Mfg Date: 2011-02-10 Load Cycles: 89 OS X Battery Status: Poor Battery Temp: 33.6 Charging with 0.0 Watts Battery State: Discharging Before I go buy a new battery, is there anyway I can tell if the logic board is damaged and not supplying the battery with power? It runs on the 85w magsafe adapter alone but at significantly reduced clock speed. I tried a SMC reset. Thanks Update (08/21/2016)

I noticed that these three orange components appear to have been overheated. There appears to be very minimal corrosion in a couple other places on the port side of the board. Should I try to soak/brush it in alcohol as a first step?

Before you do anything else, take it to an ASP and request that they run the test for this issue, you may end up with a free logic board replacement: https://www.apple.com/support/macbookpro