Chosen Solution

I have a Kenmore Series 70 washing machine. Is there a way to slow down the water flow from the washer into the drainage pipe as the water drains out? The present situation is that because the water drains so quickly from the washer, the water backs up in the laundry room sink. Eventually, the water does drains from the sink. The house I live in was built in 1966 when a smaller diameter for a drainage pipe from the washer was standard. The drainage pipe for today’s washers has a larger diameter. I hope you can tell me how to slow down the water flow into the drainage pipe because I can’t afford to tear up the floor in the laundry room and replace my pipe(s) with a pipe of larger diameter. Thank you for your help with this problem.

@steve727 you really can’t slow it down since that comes from the water pump and there is no way to slow it down. Your issue sounds like a clogged vent (or no vent existing) to the sink. Even a drain pipe form the 50’s and 60’s is big enough to drain a modern washer.