Chosen Solution

My HDD, a FUJITSU MHY2200BH, has started to get noisy, so I am looking at replacing it. Mister790 (the man :) said in one of his older posts: “Click on the “Parts Store” above, find your model, and it should be pretty easy to find a replacement hard drive.” However, there are 17 options for my unit (even a “solid state” choice!) and I have no clue how to go about selecting which of the 17 I should get. Is 7200 over 5400RPM “better”? Is one manufacturer known to be more reliable? Should I go with a larger capacity? What about that solid state one? Any insights you can provide to help guide my selection will be welcome. Thanks!

Choice of drives, as with anything else, depends on budget and need. I personally like the 7200 rpm drives for the small speed bump. I use and install as standard the Western Digital Scorpio Black 320 GB. I’ve had no failures, no heat problems and no noise problems. To me, the SSD drives are as yet overpriced for what you get. I’ve installed about 30 of these with no problems. I don’t like used drives or refurbished drives. I always use the “write zeros” option when formatting to eliminate any potential bad blocks, it takes longer but in the long run saves hours of recovery.