Chosen Solution

I received a S.M.A.R.T. warning on my ASUS Q552UB Notebook last week. I would like to swap out the hard drive with a replacement HDD. I need to figure out the dimensions of the factory HDD so I can buy the right sized replacement. I also need to know what tools are necessary to remove the existing HDD. I’m probably a half step above novice level but I follow instructions well and would love to do this myself. Update (09/10/2017) I see this here: Asus X551CA Hard Drive Replacement, though I’m afraid I don’t know whether it’s similar enough to my model. I assume the steps are probably the same, but I’ll still need to nail down the HDD dimensions.

From what you have shown, it looks like it is a standard 2.5" Laptop hard drive. Buy either the Samsung SSD, Seagate SSHD, or WD 2.5" and you should be ok. Before you put in the hard drive, and if you can still use your computer, each of these companies will have a downloadable software that lets you directly copy/clone your hard drive to the new one if you can connect it via USB. Something like this: https://www.amazon.com/SANOXY-inch-Drive… or this: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01FS4MCL2/ref

This has nothing to do with replacing a hard drive on a ASUS Q552UB .